Eight-team Associate T20I tournament slated for January

The eight Associate countries with T20I status are set to take part in a round-robin tournament planned for the start of the new year, multiple sources have told ESPNcricinfo.

The tournament would also be separate from a possible World T20 Qualifier involving other Associates advancing out of their regional tournaments that could be held later in 2017 or early 2018 pending ICC approval of a World T20 in 2018.

In addition to the top six Associates with dual ODI and T20I status - Ireland, Afghanistan, Scotland, Hong Kong, UAE, Papua New Guinea - the two other participating countries are Netherlands and Oman, who each secured T20I status by qualifying for the 2016 World T20 in India.

To read full article - https://goo.gl/N6vbeH