CT🏆 Flashbacks: 2009 - Mighty 💪Aussies At it Again‼

As was the norm in the 1st decade of the new millennium, the Australians defended another one of their ODI titles. They repeated their CT triumph 3 years later in 2009.

The tournament was initially scheduled to be held in Pakistan in 2008, but fixture congestion & security issues prompted the delay & change of location(South Africa).

8 teams participated. 2 groups of 4 in the 1st stage.

🏆Champions: Australia
🙌Best Batsman: Ricky Ponting(288 runs)
☝Best Bowler: Wayne Parnell(11 wickets)

Group Stages:
🔰Australia & Pakistan progressed from Group A. India were unlucky to miss out as rain prevented a possibility of a result in their game against the Aussies. Pakistan maintained their 100% record against their neighbours in the tournament with a convincing win.
🔰Woeful West Indies were shown the door as well.

🔰Group B was an even more competitive bunch and England & New Zealand prevailed over South Africa & Sri Lanka. The Kiwis needed to win their final game and did it in style to qualify.

🔰Australia reduced England to ashes in their matchup with a 9-wicket win. Shane Watson lead from the front and scored a terrific century.

🔰New Zealand beat Pakistan by 5 wickets to set up a Oceanian final. All rounders Grant Elliot & Dan Vettori starred in the victory.

🔰Set a low target of 201, the Aussies romped home with 6 wickets and 5 overs to spare. It was elementary for Watson who scored another unbeaten century.

📲 Get Cricket on Whatsapp 💬