ISL expands to include two more teams for next season

  |   Football / ISL

Two new franchises have been added to the Indian Super League — Tata-owned Jamshedpur and JSW-owned Bangalore — taking the total number of teams in the five-month competition to 10. It’s a coup of sorts for the ISL.

IMG-Reliance (IMGR) officially announced Bengaluru as one of the two new sides on Monday. Steel giants Tata were awarded the Jamshedpur franchise. But Bengaluru are now faced with a quandary. Chief coach Albert Roca is the only certain figure to remain in the Bengaluru dugout as the club will be forced to release their entire squad and rebuild from scratch, in accordance with ISL rules.

The next edition of the ISL will be played across 10 cities and will be 5-month long.

Bengaluru FC have agreed to pay a franchise fee of Rs 18 crore per year, while Tata Steel will pay Rs 15 crore.

To read full article:

📲 Get LIVE Football & Football News on Whatsapp 💬