Galle Win 🇱🇰Sri Lanka's Inter-Provincial Tournament👏

Sri Lanka's much anticipated Inter-Provincial cricket tournament concluded on Tuesday (April 24) with Galle being crowned as champions. The tournament did not have a final and the winner was decided after each of the four teams played their opponents once. Galle after three games had accumulated 37.5 points while Dambulla finished a close second with 35.5 points. Kandy were third with 22.5 points.

Galle were led by all-rounder Dasun Shanaka throughout the competition in the absence of Suranga Lakmal, who was forced to pull out of the competition with a side strain. Several other leading players also missed the competition due to injuries and Sri Lanka Cricket is set to discuss whether the competition provided the desired results.

The condensed first-class tournament comprising finest players in the country was put together after intense criticism that the inter-club first-class tournament did not prepare players to face challenges of international cricket. Sri Lanka have 24 clubs playing first-class cricket.The Inter-Provincial tournament was a brainchild of a high profile committee comprising four former Sri Lankan captains - Anura Tennekoon, Aravinda de Silva, Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara.

To read full article:

📲 Get Cricket on Whatsapp 💬