Karnataka 🗳Election Results LIVE ⚠Updates - Siddaramaiah submits resignation

  |   India News

▪Congress attempting to subvert popular mandate : Yeddyurappa: Karantaka state BJP chief B.S. Yeddyurappa met the mediapersons at party office in Bengaluru. He was accompanied by BJP in-charge for Karnataka P. Muralidhara Rao, Union Minister Ananth Kumar and Shobha Karandlaje. Mr. Yeddyurappa said he condemns "attempts by Congress to subvert popular mandate" and the party's attempt to "trying to come back to power from back door." People of Karnataka will never accept that, he added.

▪Siddaramaiah submits resignation : Chief Minister Siddaramaiah has met Governor V.R. Vala and tendered his resignation. He was accompanied by party State chief G. Parameshwara. It is learnt that Mr. Parameshwara had gone to give letter of support to JD(S) but was turned back. He didn't have prior appointment to meet the Governor, sources told The Hindu.

▪Coastal Karnataka goes to BJP, while Dakshina Karnataka prefers Congress : The BJP has almost swept the coastal Karnataka region by winning 16 out of 19 seats. Prominent among those defeated from the Congress include Ministers B. Ramanath Rai and Pramod Madhwaraj from Bantwal and Udupi respectively; former Minister K. Abhayachandra from Moodbidri and KSRTC Chairman K. Gopal Poojary from Byndoor. BJP has won all the five seats in Udupi district while Congress had held three seats, Udupi, Kaup and Byndoor in the 2013 polls.

▪In Uttara Kannada, BJP has won four out of six seats while the Congress won two, including Haliyal represented by Minister R.V. Deshpande. Former minister Vishweshwar Hegde Kageri, who retained the seat this time too as a BJP nominee, was the lone BJP MLA from Uttara Kannada in 2013.

▪The situation is a complete reverse in Dakshina Kannada where Congress had won seven out of eight seats in 2013. This time, BJP has won seven out of eight seats, leaving Mangaluru (formerly Ullal) to Congress nominee and Minister U.T. Khader.

▪BJP to wait for final results : After the dramatic development of the Congress and the JD(S) coming together, BJP’s chief Ministerial candidate B.S. Yeddyurappa told reporters in Bengaluru that the party will wait for the final results to be declared.

📲 Get India News on Whatsapp 💬