Manohar Elected🗳 Unopposed As ICC Chairman👔 Till 2020

Shashank Manohar will continue as the ICC chairman until 2020 after he was elected unopposed for a second two-year term. In a media release, the ICC stated that Manohar was the "sole nominee" put forth by the board. As a result, there was no need for an election process, which originally would have been scheduled during the annual conference in June.

In 2016, Manohar had vacated his position as BCCI president to be elected unanimously as the ICC's inaugural independent chairman. Six months in, Manohar said he would step down for personal reasons, but was persuaded by several ICC board members to stay on in the job. Manohar subsequently said he would leave by the end of the first year, halfway into his term. After the same group asked Manohar to reconsider his decision again, he opted to carry on till June this year.

During Manohar's tenure, the ICC has taken significant strides in overhauling its structure and constitution by becoming a more democratic body. Despite stiff resistance, Manohar managed to persuade bigger boards like the BCCI to adopt the new ICC governance structure as well as a new finance distribution model, which would ensure revenue from commercial deals would be shared evenly by both the major and minor members.

To read full article:

📲 Get Cricket on Whatsapp 💬