Fed. Govt. Moves To Cancel Licences Of Kaduna ⚡Electric, AEDC, Six Others

  |   Nigeria News

Following the breach of some provisions of the Electric Power Sector Reform Act in July 2019, plans are underway by the Federal Government to cancel the licences of eight power distribution companies in Nigeria, including Kaduna Electric Power Distribution Company of Nigeria (KAEDCO) allegedly owed by former Vice President, Namadi Sambo.

According to the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission, the eight distribution companies, DisCos, include Kaduna Electricity Distribution Company, Kaduna Electric; Kano Electricity Distribution Company, KEDCO; Abuja Electricity Distribution Company, AEDC.

In the eight-page notice to the Discos, which was signed by one of the NERC's commissioner, Dafe Akpeneye, the commission stated that the power firms had 60 days to explain why their licences should not be cancelled.

Kaduna Electricity Distribution Company, Kaduna Electric, was allegedly acquired by former Vice President, Namadi Sambo, when he was in power through one of his allies, Yusuf Mairago.

Other DisCos that may be axed are Benin, Enugu, Ikeja, Port Harcourt and Yola.

In a notice posted on its website on Wednesday, the power sector regulator said it intended to cancel licences issued to the eight Discos pursuant to Section 74 of the EPSR Act.

Photo - http://v.duta.us/D5TvzQAA

Click here to read more- - http://v.duta.us/0soVMQAA

📲 Get Nigeria News on Whatsapp 💬